9

鹿皮峽谷-譫妄

經過感恩節慶祝活動,Amji,耀西,格雷格,史蒂夫,莎拉,Joey和我脫下了另一個我們的冒險。 我們打算嘗試徒步世界上最長的狹縫型峽谷(〜43超長英里)由鹿皮峽谷(或者更確切地說線通),以李的渡輪。 我們駕駛小時到深夜和導航的土路滿,需要一個戰鬥機飛行員的響應時間來瀏覽和中心槽洞後抵達猶他州和亞利桑那州交界。

我們早上搭起了帳篷1:00左右,並打算去睡覺。 預測預測,它會得到下降到30度的夜晚。 我們所有的睡袋被評為約25度,所以我們認為我們都很好。 夜空壯觀! 我沒有理會設立一個帳篷,因為我想看到星星。 我鑽進我的睡袋,但有麻煩溫暖。 我熬夜看明星,並試圖採取摩擦的優勢,讓我的腳趾凍結了。 那是不是所有的有效。 原來,這是10度的夜晚!

耀西,格雷格和我離開營地,在初期李的渡輪砸一輛車了。 格雷格來湊湊熱鬧,因為他的腳被凍結和他沒有睡著尚未要么。 我們花了三個小時落車,並使其回到登山口。 當我們回到我們的船員休息​​只是準備。 加息是地球上最美麗的步道之一。 我以前已經做到了,我真的很期待到第二天 - 其中鹿皮峽谷飛機清潔飲水噴泉右出峽谷壁。

我們帶來了額外的用品,我甚至因為在峽谷跑入帕里亞峽谷,這是充滿了乾淨的齊腰深的水源源不斷第二天帶來了一個充氣浮筒。 我們打算將其推了一下同重量的第一天,浮我們所有的重型裝備就行的其餘部分。 史蒂夫是一個廚師,他準備各種為我們偉大的飯菜 - 包括牛排,MMMMMMMM。

我們探討每一個彎道的一天,並繼續在午後,我們遇到了一個紳士,這是在回來的路上。 他告誡我們,有牆的部分牆泥前進,我們不能通過,而只是通過它。 我們希望,每年的這個時候將幫助我們避免任何這些泥濘的區域,但我們沒有打算讓一對夫婦泥濘的斑點阻止我們的。 因此,我們壓上。 當我們來到現場泥濘我把我的鞋子脫掉,推動通過它,放棄我的包,然後回來渡輪船員在我的肩上。

我的計劃沒有奏效,因為我本來打算。 我穿梭在整個耀西,她的包,莎拉,然後她的包,但那時我是在低溫的第二階段。 我的整個身體顫抖失控,我已經把我的腳趾上的一些尖銳的岩石。 這些傢伙不得不自謀生路。 他們都通過推香榭麗舍大街一樣冷。 然後,我們休息了一下清理,溫暖自己封閉起來。 我們停下來吃飯真的晚午餐,然後又開始移動。

當太陽我注意到我有多累。 我沒有保持清醒這漫長的歲月,肯定不會在一天,需要不間斷的徒步旅行。 它已經開始得到足夠冷,我們不能停止運動沒有得到舒服。 然後,我們來到了另外一個泥濘的地方。 這一次是不是很長。 事實上,我們已經看到,已經從上述步行約10分鐘回倒下的樹。 因此,所有的球員走回長嘆樹在我們的肩上,然後扔在泥濘的區域。 所有,但史蒂夫使它在沒有得到泥濘。 我們不停。

我們現在走的前大燈,因為這峽谷深處是competely暗。 然後我們打渾的另一個區域。 我們決定以剛韌出來,並去了。 因此,我們把我們的neopryne襪子,很快就發現,我們不得不遍歷沒有鞋上的泥,否則我們會失去他們。 凍泥泥後後泥。 冰面破了我們的小腿,而且已經衝下峽谷遺留下來的屎泥腥臭。 我們的指導的希望是,一旦我們到達了河帕里亞我們可以清理,然後讓我們的爐子一個漂亮溫馨的晚餐,然後進入我們的睡袋和熱身(我們已經暖手和腳暖預留了這部分) 。

Delerium和疲憊開始設置格雷格試圖啟動一個叛變,說他要回去時,他看到了與壁的部分壁未知深度泥另一側的效能驟降。 我說我會嘗試一下,如果它不是太糟糕了,然後我們就可以繼續下去。 他同意這一點。 這是只有膝蓋深。 泥終於讓了,我們上調2小時。 然後泥漿再次啟動。 11:30這是10度,我們都在我們的短褲,捲起褲子,泳衣,或在Amji的情況下,他的內衣,滿身是泥,幾乎達到我們的腰部,從85磅耗盡在我們的背上,渴並準備晚餐。 最後還是沒有在視線內。

然後我們打的落客 - 地方,我們不得不爬下來用繩索。 唯一的問題是,在這個窗台的另一側的泥塘裡等待著我們 - 這就是一個如此之深,它需要我們能夠把我們送走和整個遊它們。 該小組devestated。 我們幾乎在與帕里亞河,清水等待著我們的交界處,現在我們不得不後腦勺。 我們不能在我們的睡袋這樣睡覺,我們不能持有仍然超過30秒無結冰。 我們唯一的選擇就是後腦勺,經過一夜,回到通過所有的泥坑!

我們將分成兩個組,甩了非必需品,並開始向後快,因為我​​們可以,希望之前,我們達到了我們的目的,我們將到達終點。 Amji,耀西和我在後面的組。 我的新鞋都是一樣的尺寸變大,並隨著不斷泥他們從側面滑動到另一側的每一步。 這是不可能走路快。 我們決定我們的策略是要步行20分鐘,再取3分鐘的休息時間。 一遍又一遍,我們鼓勵我們等待那下破。 在第三個破發大家都在暗礁的提升我們的包裝重量過我們的肩膀瞬間我們都睡著了坐了下來。 寒冷得耀西第一,她醒了過來,並恢復我們。 我們無法相信,我們已經都達到了夢想舞台瞬間。

我們壓上,當太陽升起來,我們就開始出現幻覺。 我們看到人說人不在那裡,我看到了巨大的紅色蜻蜓相互嬉戲。 Amji抓住我的胳膊說:“我們必須堅持走下去。”我想告訴他,我走,但後來我意識到,我沒有。 耀西失去了所有的感覺,並要加快溫暖她的身體了必要的。 她走到我們前面,並結束了失踪的線索的唯一轉機。 當Amji我去到有人歡呼對我們的出口,耀西是失踪,救援我們乘坐(第一隊)是不存在來接我們。 我們放棄了剩餘的裝備和excuted計劃找耀西。 她提前按下,然後​​意識到,她錯過了轉彎。 她轉過身,再次錯過了轉彎,一路走來的地方,我們本來分手。 然後,她轉身再次在這個時候找到了出口轉。 她放下手中的整個包,並試圖與她所有的能量最後做出來。 我們都非常高興能重新走到一起。

然後,我們等待著,繼續凍結。 所有的感情都在這一點上留下了我的腳十幾個小時前。 兩小時後一輛卡車駛過,我們懇求司機帶我們去最近的城鎮。 我們看上去像我們覆蓋狗屎,並在技術上我們。 他試圖要有禮貌我們的氣味,把毯子下來在他的座位,並推動我們走向了柏油路。 就像我們到了路上,我們看到莎拉駕駛我的車朝我們。 我們很高興終於找到了,每個人都安全。

這家酒店是我曾經擁有過的最好的。 熱無盡的水洗澡。 軟床。 溫暖! 它真的幫助我們來看看生活中簡單的快樂的全新方式! 生命是驚人的。


評論(9)

引用網址 | 評論RSS飼料

  1. Amjith 說:

    感謝您抽出來記錄這個巨大的冒險時間。

  2. 喬伊 說:

    是的! 感謝您記錄這次冒險 - 不能等到四月 - 我承諾,我們都會在一起這段時間 :-)

  3. 很好的文章,謝謝。 我簽署了您的RSS飼料!

  4. 比爾 Westerhoff:

    我很高興你們都做出來安全的,但哇你真的敲響的旅程準備不足。 我們每年做短線通到白宮在十月或十一月,並已處理了所有你所描述的挑戰。 根據記錄,大部分的氣味是從基本的有機物質(植物等)分解。 雖然你做了一個非常明智的選擇回頭的落石,有幾種方法讓過去的,雖然去年秋交會還是離開了相當的池塘有像你描述的,如果你通過摩基步驟爬下(左側往下看峽谷),它是完全乾燥。 這本來是帕里亞河那會真的把你的考驗。 這是去年相當深刻而痛苦的時間。

    另一個冰凍跳閘報告http://​www​.climb​-utah​.com/​E​s​c​a​l​a​n​t​e​/​b​u​c​k​s​k​i​n​i​c​e​.​htm

  5. 艾米 說:

    感謝您抽出來記錄這個巨大的冒險時間。

  6. 保羅 說:

    我很高興你們都做出來安全的,但哇你真的敲響的旅程準備不足。 我們每年做短線通到白宮在十月或十一月,並已處理了所有你所描述的挑戰。 根據記錄,大部分的氣味是從基本的有機物質(植物等)分解。 雖然你做了一個非常明智的選擇回頭的落石,有幾種方法讓過去的,雖然去年秋交會還是離開了相當的池塘有像你描述的,如果你通過摩基步驟爬下(左側往下看峽谷),它是完全乾燥。 這本來是帕里亞河那會真的把你的考驗。 這是去年相當深刻而痛苦的時間。

    另一個冰凍跳閘報告http://​www​.climb​-utah​.com/​E​s​c​a​l​a​n​t​e​/​b​u​c​k​s​k​i​n​i​c​e​.​htm

  7. ES 說:

    打算在一月似乎真的不靈通。 一個偉大的故事之後,但也許是不必要的冒險奇遇,除非那是你的意圖。 我們去了9月26日,2010年和有零水或泥漿,在任何地方峽谷,節省了幾個小的腳踝深池作為我們走近帕里亞。 這一切都在時序。

發表評論




如果你想有一個圖片與您的評論顯示,去獲得的gravatar

9

Buckskin Gulch – The Delirium

After the Thanksgiving festivities, Amji, Yoshi, Greg, Steve, Sarah, Joey and I took off for another one of our adventures. We were going to attempt to hike the world’s longest slot canyon (~43 extra-long miles) from Buckskin Gulch (or rather Wire Pass) to Lee’s Ferry. We arrived at the border between Utah and Arizona after driving hours into the night and navigating a dirt road full of gashes and holes that required the response time of a fighter pilot to navigate.

We set up our tents around 1:00 in the morning and intended to go to sleep. The forecast predicted that it would get down to 30 degrees that night. All of our sleeping bags were rated to approximately 25 degrees so we thought we were fine. The night sky was SPECTACULAR! I didn’t bother setting up a tent because I wanted to see the stars. I got into my sleeping bag but had trouble getting warm. I stayed up watching the stars and tried to take advantage of friction to keep my toes from freezing over. It wasn’t all the effective. Turns out that it was 10 degrees that night!

Yoshi, Greg and I left camp early to drop one car off at Lee’s Ferry. Greg came along for the ride because his feet were freezing and he hadn’t fallen asleep yet either. It took us three hours to drop off the car and make it back to the trailhead. When we returned the rest of our crew were just getting ready. The hike is one of the most beautiful trails on Earth. I’ve done it before and I was really looking forward to the second day – where the Fountain of Buckskin Gulch jets clean drinking water right out of the canyon wall.

We brought extra supplies and I even brought an inflatable pontoon because on the second day the canyon runs into the Paria canyon, which is filled with a steady flow of clean waist-deep water. We intended to push it a bit with the weight on the first day and float all our heavy gear on the rest of the trip. Steve is a chef and he had prepared all kinds of great meals for us – including steaks, mmmmmmmm.

We explored each bend as the day continued and in the early afternoon we ran into a gentleman that was on his way back. He warned us that there was a section of wall to wall mud ahead that we could not pass through without just going through it. We were hoping that this time of year would help us avoid any of these muddy regions, but we had no intention of letting a couple of muddy spots stop us. So we pressed on. When we came to the muddy spot I took my shoes off, pushed through it, dropped my pack and then came back to ferry the crew on my shoulders.

My plan didn’t work as I had intended. I shuttled Yoshi across, her pack, Sarah, and then her pack, but by that time I was in the second stage of hypothermia. My entire body was uncontrollably shaking and I had cut my toes on some sharp rocks. The guys had to fend for themselves. They all pushed through the cold like champs. Then we took a break to clean up and warm ourselves up. We stopped to eat a really late lunch and then started moving again.

As the sun set I took note of how tired I was. I hadn’t stayed awake this long for years, certainly not on a day that required nonstop hiking. It was already starting to get cold enough that we couldn’t stop moving without getting uncomfortable. Then we came to another muddy spot. This one wasn’t very long. In fact, we had seen a tree that had fallen from above about 10 minutes walk back. So all the guys walked back and heaved the tree on our shoulders and then threw it over the muddy region. All but Steve made it over without getting muddy. We kept on.

We were walking with headlamps now because the depths of this canyon were competely dark. Then we hit another muddy region. We decided to just tough it out and go for it. So we put on our neopryne socks and quickly discovered that we had to traverse the mud without shoes, otherwise we would lose them. Mud after mud after frozen mud. The ice broke on our shins, and the mud stank of left over feces that had washed down the canyon. Our guiding hope was that once we reached the Paria river we could clean up, then make a nice warm dinner with our stoves, and then get into our sleeping bags and warm up (we had hand warmers and feet warmers set aside for this part).

Delerium and exhaustion started to set in. Greg tried to start a mutiny and said he was going back when he saw a dropoff with a section of wall to wall mud of unknown depth on the other side. I said I’ll try it out and if its not too bad then we can keep going. He agreed to this. It was only knee deep. The mud finally let up and we hiked for another 2 hours. Then the mud started up again. At 11:30 it was 10 degrees, we were all in our shorts, rolled up pants, swimming suits, or as in Amji’s case his underwear, covered in mud almost up to our waists, exhausted from the 85 pounds on our backs, thirsty and ready for dinner. The end still wasn’t in sight.

Then we hit the drop off – place where we had to climb down with ropes. The only problem was that on the other side of this ledge a mud lake awaited us – one that was so deep that it would require us to take our packs off and swim them across. The group was devestated. We were almost at the junction with the Paria river where clean water awaited us and now we had to head back. We could not sleep in our sleeping bags like this, we could not hold still for more then 30 seconds without freezing. Our only choice was to head back, through the night, back through all the mud pits!

We broke into two groups, dumped the nonessentials and started back as quickly as we could, hoping that we would reach the end before we reached our end. Amji, Yoshi and I were in the back group. My new shoes were one size to big and with the constant mud they were slipping from side to side with every step. It was impossible to walk fast. We decided our strategy was to walk for 20 minutes and then take a 3 minute break. Over and over we encouraged ourselves waiting for that next break. On the third break we all sat down on ledges that lifted the weight of our packs off our shoulders and instantly we were all asleep. The cold got to Yoshi first and she woke up and revived us. We couldn’t believe that we had all reached the dreams stage instantly.

We pressed on and when the sun came up we began hallucinating. We saw people that weren’t there, I saw huge red dragonflies playing with each other. Amji grabbed my arm and said “We need to keep walking.” I tried to tell him that I was walking but then I realized that I wasn’t. Yoshi was losing all feeling and needed to move faster to warm her body up. She went ahead of us and ended up missing the only turn on the trail. When Amji and I made it to the exit it was hailing on us, Yoshi was missing, and our rescue ride (the first team) was not there to pick us up. We dropped our remaining gear and excuted a plan to find Yoshi. She had pressed ahead and then realized that she missed the turn. She turned back and missed the turn again and walked all the way to where we originally parted. Then she turned around again and this time found the exit turn. She had dropped her entire pack and tried with all her last energy to make it out. We were all very glad to be back together.

Then we waited and continued to freeze. All feeling had left my feet over ten hours ago at this point. After two hours a truck drove through and we begged the driver to take us to the nearest town. We looked like we were covered in shit, and technically we were. He tried to be courteous about our smell, put blankets down over his seats, and drove us toward the paved road. Just as we made it to the road we saw Sarah driving my car towards us. We were happy to finally find out that everyone was safe.

The hotel was the best I’ve ever had. Hot endless water in the shower. Soft beds. Warm! It really helped us see the simple pleasures in life a whole new way! Life is amazing.


 

Comments (9)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Amjith says:

    Thank you for taking the time to document this monumental adventure.

  2. Joey says:

    Yes! Thank you for documenting this adventure – can’t wait for April – I promise we will all stay together this time :-)

  3. Nice article, thanks. I signed up to your rss feed!

  4. Bill Westerhoff says:

    I’m glad you guys all made it out safe, but wow you really sounded ill prepared for the journey. We do the shorter Wire Pass to White House every year in October or November and have dealt with all the challenges that you described. For the record, the majority of the smell is from basic organic material (plants, etc) decomposing. Though you made a very wise choice to turn back at the rock fall, there are several ways to get past that and though last Autumn did leave quite a pond there as you described, if you climb down via the Moki steps (left side looking down canyon) it was totally dry. It would have been the Paria river that would have really put you to the test. It was quite deep and painful that time last year.

    Another frozen trip report – http://www.climb-utah.com/Escalante/buckskinice.htm

  5. Amy says:

    Thank you for taking the time to document this monumental adventure.

  6. Paul says:

    I’m glad you guys all made it out safe, but wow you really sounded ill prepared for the journey. We do the shorter Wire Pass to White House every year in October or November and have dealt with all the challenges that you described. For the record, the majority of the smell is from basic organic material (plants, etc) decomposing. Though you made a very wise choice to turn back at the rock fall, there are several ways to get past that and though last Autumn did leave quite a pond there as you described, if you climb down via the Moki steps (left side looking down canyon) it was totally dry. It would have been the Paria river that would have really put you to the test. It was quite deep and painful that time last year.

    Another frozen trip report – http://www.climb-utah.com/Escalante/buckskinice.htm

  7. es says:

    Going in January seems really ill-informed. A great story afterward perhaps but an unnecessarily risky adventure, unless that is what you intended. We went on Sept. 26, 2010 and there was zero water or mud anywhere in the canyon, save a few small ankle-deep pools as we neared Paria. It’s all in the timing.

Leave a Reply




If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.