9

Buckskin الوادي - وهذيان

بعد احتفالات عيد الشكر، Amji، يوشي، جريج، ستيف، سارة، جوي وخلعت عن بعضها البعض من مغامرات لدينا. نحن ذاهبون إلى محاولة رفع في العالم فتحة أطول الوادي (~ 43 ميلا خارج طويلة) من Buckskin الوادي (أو بالأحرى ممر واير) لنقل لي. وصلنا إلى الحدود بين يوتا وأريزونا بعد القيادة ساعات في الليل والتنقل طريق ترابي الكامل من الجروح البليغة والثقوب التي تتطلب زمن الاستجابة من طيارا مقاتلا للتنقل.

أنشأنا خيامنا حول 1:00 في الصباح وينوي الذهاب للنوم. وتوقع التوقعات أنه سيكون النزول إلى 30 درجة في تلك الليلة. تم تصنيف كل من أكياس النوم لدينا ما يقرب من 25 درجة حتى ظننا أننا كنا بخير. كانت السماء ليلة مذهلة! أنا لم يكلف نفسه عناء إقامة خيمة لأنني أردت أن ترى النجوم. وصلت إلى بلدي كيس للنوم ولكن واجه صعوبة في الحصول على الدفء. وبقيت في مشاهدة النجوم وحاول الاستفادة من الاحتكاك للحفاظ على أصابع قدمي من خلال تجميد. لم يكن كل فعالية. تبين أنه 10 درجة في تلك الليلة!

يوشي، جريج وغادرت المخيم في وقت مبكر لإسقاط سيارة دفعة واحدة في فيري لي. جاء جريج على طول للركوب لأن قدميه تم تجميد وانه لم رقدوا حتى الآن سواء. استغرقنا ثلاث ساعات لاسقاط السيارة وتجعل من العودة إلى القافلة. عندما عدنا بقية أفراد طاقم الطائرة كانوا مجرد الحصول على استعداد. ارتفاع هي واحدة من أجمل مسارات على الأرض. لقد فعلت ذلك من قبل، وكنت أتطلع إلى اليوم الثاني - حيث ينبوع طائرات Buckskin الوادي مياه الشرب النظيفة حق من الجدار الوادي.

جئنا امدادات اضافية وحتى احضرت لنفخ عائم لفي اليوم الثاني الوادي يعمل في الوادي باريا، وهي مليئة تدفق مستمر من الخصر عميق المياه النظيفة. نحن تهدف لدفعها قليلا مع الوزن في اليوم الأول وتطفو جميع لدينا معدات الثقيلة على بقية الرحلة. ستيف هو رئيس الطباخين وكان قد أعدها كل أنواع من وجبات كبيرة بالنسبة لنا - بما في ذلك شرائح اللحم، MMMMMMMM.

بحثنا كل منعطف، حيث واصل اليوم وبعد الظهر في وقت مبكر التقينا رجل الذي كان في طريق عودته. وحذر لنا أن هناك قسم من الجدار إلى الجدار قبل الطين أننا لا يمكن أن تمر من خلال دون مجرد الذهاب من خلال ذلك. وكنا نأمل أن هذا الوقت من العام من شأنه أن يساعدنا في تجنب أي من هذه المناطق الموحلة، ولكن لم يكن لدينا نية لترك بضع بقع الموحلة يوقفنا. لذلك نحن ضغطت على. عندما وصلنا الى مكان الحادث الموحلة أخذت أحذيتي، دفعت من خلال ذلك، انخفض حزمة بلدي ثم عاد لنقل الطاقم على كتفي.

لم خطتي لا تعمل كما كان ينوي. I مكوكية يوشي عبر، حزمة لها، سارة، ثم حزمة لها، ولكن في ذلك الوقت كنت في المرحلة الثانية من انخفاض حرارة الجسم. جسمي كله يرتجف دون حسيب ولا رقيب، وكنت قد قطعت أصابع قدمي على بعض الصخور الحادة. كان الرجال ليدافعوا عن أنفسهم. انهم جميعا دفع من خلال البرد مثل الأبطال. ثم أخذنا استراحة لتنظيف وتدفئة أنفسنا. توقفنا لتناول غداء في وقت متأخر جدا وبعد ذلك بدأت تتحرك مرة أخرى.

كما تغرب الشمس أخذت علما كيف تعبت كنت. لم أكن قد بقيت مستيقظا هذا الوقت الطويل لسنوات، وبالتأكيد ليس في يوم التي تتطلب المشي لمسافات طويلة دون توقف. انها بدأت بالفعل للحصول على البارد يكفي أننا لا يمكن أن يتوقف عن الحركة دون الحصول على غير مريحة. ثم وصلنا إلى نقطة الموحلة آخر. وكان هذا واحد لم يمض وقت طويل جدا. في الواقع، ونحن قد رأينا الشجرة التي سقطت من فوق حوالي 10 دقائق سيرا على الأقدام إلى الوراء. لذلك مشى جميع اللاعبين ذهابا وتنفس الشجرة على أكتافنا ثم رماه على المنطقة الموحلة. جميع ولكن ستيف جعلت من دون الحصول على الموحلة. حافظنا على.

كنا نسير مع المصابيح الأمامية الآن لأعماق هذا الوادي كانت مظلمة competely. ثم ضربنا المنطقة الموحلة آخر. قررنا أن مجرد صعبة بها والذهاب لذلك. لذلك وضعنا على الجوارب neopryne لدينا، وسرعان ما اكتشف أنه كان علينا أن تجتاز الطين بدون حذاء، وإلا فإننا سوف تفقد لهم. الطين بعد الطين بعد الطين المجمدة. كسر الجليد على السيقان لدينا، وستانك الطين من خلفها البراز التي قد غسل أسفل الوادي. وكان لدينا أمل توجيه أنه بمجرد وصلنا إلى نهر باريا نتمكن من تنظيف، ثم جعل مأدبة عشاء لطيف دافئ مع مواقد دينا، ومن ثم ندخل في أكياس النوم لدينا والاحماء (كان لدينا تدفئة اليد والقدمين تدفئة خصصت لهذا الجزء) .

بدأ Delerium والإرهاق لوضع فيه حاولت جريج لبدء التمرد وقال انه ذاهب الى الوراء عندما رأى يتجمعوا مع قسم من جدار إلى جدار الطين من عمق غير معروف على الجانب الآخر. قلت سأحاول بها وإذا به لا بأس بها ثم يمكننا الاستمرار. وافق على ذلك. كان الوحيد في الركبة عميق. السماح للالطين في النهاية ونحن ارتفعت لمدة 2 ساعة أخرى. ثم بدأ الوحل مرة أخرى. الساعة 11:30 كان 10 درجة، كنا جميعا في منطقتنا السراويل، وطوى السراويل، السباحة الدعاوى، أو كما في حالة Amji في ملابسه الداخلية، وغطت في الطين تقريبا تصل إلى الخصر لدينا، منهكة من 85 جنيها، على ظهورنا، عطشان وعلى استعداد لتناول العشاء. كان لا يزال النهاية لا تلوح في الأفق.

ثم ضربنا غلبه النعاس - المكان الذي كان علينا أن النزول بالحبال. وكانت المشكلة الوحيدة التي على الجانب الآخر من هذه الحافة بحيرة الطين ينتظر منا - تلك التي كانت عميقة بحيث تتطلب منا اتخاذ حزم لدينا من والسباحة لهم عبر. وdevestated المجموعة. كنا تقريبا عند تقاطع مع النهر باريا حيث المياه النظيفة ينتظر منا والآن كان لدينا للعودة. نحن لم أستطع النوم في أكياس النوم لدينا مثل هذا، ونحن لا يمكن أن يعقد يزال لأكثر من 30 ثانية من دون تجميد. كان خيارنا الوحيد لرئاسة مرة أخرى، وخلال الليل، ومرة ​​أخرى من خلال كل حفر الطين!

كسرنا إلى مجموعتين، ملقاة هو غير ضروري والتي يعود بأسرع ما نستطيع، وعلى أمل أن نتمكن من شأنه الوصول الي النهاية قبل وصلنا نهايتنا. كانت Amji، يوشي، وأنا في المجموعة مرة أخرى. وكانت حذائي الجديد حجم واحد لكبيرة ومع الطين المستمر كانوا الانزلاق من جانب إلى آخر مع كل خطوة. وكان من المستحيل أن يمشي بسرعة. قررنا كانت استراتيجيتنا على المشي لمدة 20 دقيقة ثم أخذ قسط من الراحة بعد 3 دقائق. مرارا وتكرارا شجعنا أنفسنا في انتظار أن كسر المقبل. في بداية الشوط الثاني الثالث جلسنا على الحواف التي رفعت وزن حزم لدينا قبالة أكتافنا وعلى الفور كنا جميعا نائمين. حصلت البرد ليوشي أولا واستيقظت وأحيا لنا. لا يمكن أن نعتقد أننا قد وصلنا كل مرحلة الأحلام على الفور.

ضغطنا على وعندما أشرقت الشمس بدأنا تهلوس. رأينا الناس التي لم تكن موجودة، ورأيت اليعسوب الحمراء ضخمة اللعب مع بعضهم البعض. Amji أمسك ذراعي وقال "نحن بحاجة للحفاظ على المشي." حاولت أن أقول له أنني كان يسير ولكن بعد ذلك أدركت أنني لم يكن. يوشي كان يفقد كل شعور وحاجة إلى التحرك بشكل أسرع لتدفئة جسدها حتى. ذهبت أمامنا وانتهى بها المطاف في عداد المفقودين بدوره الوحيد على الدرب. عندما Amji وأدليت به للخروج كان مشيدا على الولايات المتحدة، وكان يوشي في عداد المفقودين، وكان ركوب نجدتنا (الفريق الأول) لم يكن هناك لالتقاط لنا. اسقطنا لدينا معدات المتبقية وكسكوتيد خطة للعثور على يوشي. وكانت قد مضت قدما ثم أدركت أنها أخطأت بدوره. انها تعود الى الوراء وغاب بدوره مرة أخرى، وسار على طول الطريق إلى حيث افترقنا أصلا. ثم استدارت مرة أخرى وهذه المرة وجد بدوره الخروج. وكانت قد أخرجوها حزمة كاملة وحاولت مع كل مشاركة لها الطاقة لجعله خارج. كنا جميعا سعداء جدا لتكون معا مرة أخرى.

ثم انتظرنا واستمرار تجميد. وكان كل شعور تركت قدمي منذ أكثر من عشر ساعات في هذه المرحلة. بعد ساعتين مرت شاحنة من خلال ونحن توسل من السائق أن يأخذنا إلى أقرب بلدة. نحن يبدو اننا مشمولة في الخراء، وتقنيا كنا. حاول أن تكون لطيفا عن رائحة لدينا، ووضع الأغطية أسفل على مقاعد له، وأخرج لنا نحو الطريق المعبدة. كما أننا وصلت الى طريق شاهدنا سارة قيادة سيارتي تجاهنا. كنا سعداء لتجد في النهاية إلى أن الجميع كان آمنا.

الفندق كان أفضل واجهني. المياه التي لا نهاية لها الساخن في الحمام. أسرة لينة. الحارة! انها ساعدت حقا لنا رؤية متع الحياة البسيطة طريقة جديدة كاملة! الحياة هو مدهش.


تعليقات (9)

URL تعقيب | التعليقات آر إس إس

  1. Amjith يقول:

    أشكركم على أخذ الوقت لتوثيق هذه المغامرة الضخمة.

  2. جوي يقول:

    نعم! شكرا لتوثيق هذه المغامرة - لا يمكن أن تنتظر لشهر ابريل - أعدكم سوف كلنا نبقى معا هذه المرة :-)

  3. مادة لطيفة، وذلك بفضل. حتى انني وقعت في آر إس إس الخاص بك!

  4. بيل Westerhoff يقول:

    أنا سعيد لأنك جعلت جميع اللاعبين بها آمنة، ولكن نجاح باهر كنت حقا بدا سوء مستعدة للرحلة. ونحن نفعل ممر سلك أقصر إلى البيت الأبيض كل عام في أكتوبر أو نوفمبر وتعاملت مع كل التحديات التي وصفت لكم. للسجل، والغالبية العظمى من رائحة هي من المواد الأساسية العضوية (نباتات، الخ) متحللة. على الرغم من أنك اتخذت خيارا حكيما جدا الى العودة الى الوراء في سقوط الصخور، وهناك عدة طرق للحصول الماضي أن وكأن الخريف الماضي ترك تماما بركة هناك كما وصفته أنت، إذا كنت النزول عبر الخطوات Moki (الجانب الأيسر غمط الوادي) كانت جافة تماما. كان يمكن أن يكون النهر باريا التي من شأنها أن حقا كنت وضعت على المحك. كان عميق جدا ومؤلم أن الوقت من العام الماضي.

    تقرير آخر رحلة المجمدةhttp://​www​.climb​-utah​.com/​E​s​c​a​l​a​n​t​e​/​b​u​c​k​s​k​i​n​i​c​e​.​htm

  5. ايمي تقول:

    أشكركم على أخذ الوقت لتوثيق هذه المغامرة الضخمة.

  6. بول يقول:

    أنا سعيد لأنك جعلت جميع اللاعبين بها آمنة، ولكن نجاح باهر كنت حقا بدا سوء مستعدة للرحلة. ونحن نفعل ممر سلك أقصر إلى البيت الأبيض كل عام في أكتوبر أو نوفمبر وتعاملت مع كل التحديات التي وصفت لكم. للسجل، والغالبية العظمى من رائحة هي من المواد الأساسية العضوية (نباتات، الخ) متحللة. على الرغم من أنك اتخذت خيارا حكيما جدا الى العودة الى الوراء في سقوط الصخور، وهناك عدة طرق للحصول الماضي أن وكأن الخريف الماضي ترك تماما بركة هناك كما وصفته أنت، إذا كنت النزول عبر الخطوات Moki (الجانب الأيسر غمط الوادي) كانت جافة تماما. كان يمكن أن يكون النهر باريا التي من شأنها أن حقا كنت وضعت على المحك. كان عميق جدا ومؤلم أن الوقت من العام الماضي.

    تقرير آخر رحلة المجمدةhttp://​www​.climb​-utah​.com/​E​s​c​a​l​a​n​t​e​/​b​u​c​k​s​k​i​n​i​c​e​.​htm

  7. وفاق يقول:

    الذهاب في يناير كانون الثاني يبدو حقا سوء أبلغ. قصة كبيرة بعد ذلك ربما ولكن مغامرة محفوفة بالمخاطر لا داعي له، إلا إذا كان هذا هو ما تريده. ذهبنا يوم 26 سبتمبر 2010، وكان هناك عدم الماء أو الطين في أي مكان في الوادي، انقاذ بضعة حمامات العميقة في الكاحل صغيرة اقترابنا باريا. كل شيء في التوقيت.

اترك رد




إذا كنت تريد صورة لتظهر مع تعليقك، الذهاب الحصول على غرفتر.

9

Buckskin Gulch – The Delirium

After the Thanksgiving festivities, Amji, Yoshi, Greg, Steve, Sarah, Joey and I took off for another one of our adventures. We were going to attempt to hike the world’s longest slot canyon (~43 extra-long miles) from Buckskin Gulch (or rather Wire Pass) to Lee’s Ferry. We arrived at the border between Utah and Arizona after driving hours into the night and navigating a dirt road full of gashes and holes that required the response time of a fighter pilot to navigate.

We set up our tents around 1:00 in the morning and intended to go to sleep. The forecast predicted that it would get down to 30 degrees that night. All of our sleeping bags were rated to approximately 25 degrees so we thought we were fine. The night sky was SPECTACULAR! I didn’t bother setting up a tent because I wanted to see the stars. I got into my sleeping bag but had trouble getting warm. I stayed up watching the stars and tried to take advantage of friction to keep my toes from freezing over. It wasn’t all the effective. Turns out that it was 10 degrees that night!

Yoshi, Greg and I left camp early to drop one car off at Lee’s Ferry. Greg came along for the ride because his feet were freezing and he hadn’t fallen asleep yet either. It took us three hours to drop off the car and make it back to the trailhead. When we returned the rest of our crew were just getting ready. The hike is one of the most beautiful trails on Earth. I’ve done it before and I was really looking forward to the second day – where the Fountain of Buckskin Gulch jets clean drinking water right out of the canyon wall.

We brought extra supplies and I even brought an inflatable pontoon because on the second day the canyon runs into the Paria canyon, which is filled with a steady flow of clean waist-deep water. We intended to push it a bit with the weight on the first day and float all our heavy gear on the rest of the trip. Steve is a chef and he had prepared all kinds of great meals for us – including steaks, mmmmmmmm.

We explored each bend as the day continued and in the early afternoon we ran into a gentleman that was on his way back. He warned us that there was a section of wall to wall mud ahead that we could not pass through without just going through it. We were hoping that this time of year would help us avoid any of these muddy regions, but we had no intention of letting a couple of muddy spots stop us. So we pressed on. When we came to the muddy spot I took my shoes off, pushed through it, dropped my pack and then came back to ferry the crew on my shoulders.

My plan didn’t work as I had intended. I shuttled Yoshi across, her pack, Sarah, and then her pack, but by that time I was in the second stage of hypothermia. My entire body was uncontrollably shaking and I had cut my toes on some sharp rocks. The guys had to fend for themselves. They all pushed through the cold like champs. Then we took a break to clean up and warm ourselves up. We stopped to eat a really late lunch and then started moving again.

As the sun set I took note of how tired I was. I hadn’t stayed awake this long for years, certainly not on a day that required nonstop hiking. It was already starting to get cold enough that we couldn’t stop moving without getting uncomfortable. Then we came to another muddy spot. This one wasn’t very long. In fact, we had seen a tree that had fallen from above about 10 minutes walk back. So all the guys walked back and heaved the tree on our shoulders and then threw it over the muddy region. All but Steve made it over without getting muddy. We kept on.

We were walking with headlamps now because the depths of this canyon were competely dark. Then we hit another muddy region. We decided to just tough it out and go for it. So we put on our neopryne socks and quickly discovered that we had to traverse the mud without shoes, otherwise we would lose them. Mud after mud after frozen mud. The ice broke on our shins, and the mud stank of left over feces that had washed down the canyon. Our guiding hope was that once we reached the Paria river we could clean up, then make a nice warm dinner with our stoves, and then get into our sleeping bags and warm up (we had hand warmers and feet warmers set aside for this part).

Delerium and exhaustion started to set in. Greg tried to start a mutiny and said he was going back when he saw a dropoff with a section of wall to wall mud of unknown depth on the other side. I said I’ll try it out and if its not too bad then we can keep going. He agreed to this. It was only knee deep. The mud finally let up and we hiked for another 2 hours. Then the mud started up again. At 11:30 it was 10 degrees, we were all in our shorts, rolled up pants, swimming suits, or as in Amji’s case his underwear, covered in mud almost up to our waists, exhausted from the 85 pounds on our backs, thirsty and ready for dinner. The end still wasn’t in sight.

Then we hit the drop off – place where we had to climb down with ropes. The only problem was that on the other side of this ledge a mud lake awaited us – one that was so deep that it would require us to take our packs off and swim them across. The group was devestated. We were almost at the junction with the Paria river where clean water awaited us and now we had to head back. We could not sleep in our sleeping bags like this, we could not hold still for more then 30 seconds without freezing. Our only choice was to head back, through the night, back through all the mud pits!

We broke into two groups, dumped the nonessentials and started back as quickly as we could, hoping that we would reach the end before we reached our end. Amji, Yoshi and I were in the back group. My new shoes were one size to big and with the constant mud they were slipping from side to side with every step. It was impossible to walk fast. We decided our strategy was to walk for 20 minutes and then take a 3 minute break. Over and over we encouraged ourselves waiting for that next break. On the third break we all sat down on ledges that lifted the weight of our packs off our shoulders and instantly we were all asleep. The cold got to Yoshi first and she woke up and revived us. We couldn’t believe that we had all reached the dreams stage instantly.

We pressed on and when the sun came up we began hallucinating. We saw people that weren’t there, I saw huge red dragonflies playing with each other. Amji grabbed my arm and said “We need to keep walking.” I tried to tell him that I was walking but then I realized that I wasn’t. Yoshi was losing all feeling and needed to move faster to warm her body up. She went ahead of us and ended up missing the only turn on the trail. When Amji and I made it to the exit it was hailing on us, Yoshi was missing, and our rescue ride (the first team) was not there to pick us up. We dropped our remaining gear and excuted a plan to find Yoshi. She had pressed ahead and then realized that she missed the turn. She turned back and missed the turn again and walked all the way to where we originally parted. Then she turned around again and this time found the exit turn. She had dropped her entire pack and tried with all her last energy to make it out. We were all very glad to be back together.

Then we waited and continued to freeze. All feeling had left my feet over ten hours ago at this point. After two hours a truck drove through and we begged the driver to take us to the nearest town. We looked like we were covered in shit, and technically we were. He tried to be courteous about our smell, put blankets down over his seats, and drove us toward the paved road. Just as we made it to the road we saw Sarah driving my car towards us. We were happy to finally find out that everyone was safe.

The hotel was the best I’ve ever had. Hot endless water in the shower. Soft beds. Warm! It really helped us see the simple pleasures in life a whole new way! Life is amazing.


 

Comments (9)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Amjith says:

    Thank you for taking the time to document this monumental adventure.

  2. Joey says:

    Yes! Thank you for documenting this adventure – can’t wait for April – I promise we will all stay together this time :-)

  3. Nice article, thanks. I signed up to your rss feed!

  4. Bill Westerhoff says:

    I’m glad you guys all made it out safe, but wow you really sounded ill prepared for the journey. We do the shorter Wire Pass to White House every year in October or November and have dealt with all the challenges that you described. For the record, the majority of the smell is from basic organic material (plants, etc) decomposing. Though you made a very wise choice to turn back at the rock fall, there are several ways to get past that and though last Autumn did leave quite a pond there as you described, if you climb down via the Moki steps (left side looking down canyon) it was totally dry. It would have been the Paria river that would have really put you to the test. It was quite deep and painful that time last year.

    Another frozen trip report – http://www.climb-utah.com/Escalante/buckskinice.htm

  5. Amy says:

    Thank you for taking the time to document this monumental adventure.

  6. Paul says:

    I’m glad you guys all made it out safe, but wow you really sounded ill prepared for the journey. We do the shorter Wire Pass to White House every year in October or November and have dealt with all the challenges that you described. For the record, the majority of the smell is from basic organic material (plants, etc) decomposing. Though you made a very wise choice to turn back at the rock fall, there are several ways to get past that and though last Autumn did leave quite a pond there as you described, if you climb down via the Moki steps (left side looking down canyon) it was totally dry. It would have been the Paria river that would have really put you to the test. It was quite deep and painful that time last year.

    Another frozen trip report – http://www.climb-utah.com/Escalante/buckskinice.htm

  7. es says:

    Going in January seems really ill-informed. A great story afterward perhaps but an unnecessarily risky adventure, unless that is what you intended. We went on Sept. 26, 2010 and there was zero water or mud anywhere in the canyon, save a few small ankle-deep pools as we neared Paria. It’s all in the timing.

Leave a Reply




If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.