3

潜水沙漠石窟

对于此行马特,史蒂芬,克里斯和我着手调查温泉/洞穴甘迪,犹他州的传闻。 没有太多的在网上发布约甘迪温暖的春天。 该方向的弹簧是特别含糊 - “打开约甘迪前一英里的一条土路”,我们开始通过采取风景路线走向三角洲。 到达三角洲后,我们决定通过一个峡谷,我们谁也不曾见过走土路 - 因为奖章(我起亚)有土路的事情。 该意见是壮观! 我们在峡谷中停了几次,探索陡峭的悬崖,并侦察可能的露营地,然后我们回到对朝甘迪路线。 我们到达甘迪就在我们遇到了一条土路交界处有一个小型聚会房屋,有拖车公园感受吧。 没有迹象它指定为正式的小镇。 甘迪,在另一方面,有一个官方的迹象,即使只有一个房子与该符号相关联。

我们回溯一英里,发现一条土路适合的模糊的描述,我们有。 道路很快变成了双轨路径具有高的杂草中心,越来越多的雪,我们进一步去。 我们尝试了几种分支路线这条路上也没有用。 然后,我们咨询,我们已经存储在iPhone中的照片。 环顾四周,我们发现这似乎符合我们有最好的和着手寻找一条道路,将带我们去的几张照片的地方。 滑倒显著一路下跌泥泞的山坡和盘算办法让车回上山后,发现弹簧。

这个地方原来是比我们预想的要多。 水的温度接近80度,并与一个不祥开一个山洞里花了我们很深的地下。 随着前大灯和一对我们之间的护目镜,我们下游美丽的钟乳石和过去有点潺潺的瀑布。 近似​​乎是结束扭绕本身和一个小窗口的路径打开了房间之间的空间。 洞穴继续前进,但它去水下。 我们决定,有更多的,需要加以探讨。 于是我们又回到了出来,徒步回山上来我们车辆的顶部,水肺装到弹簧。 一旦我们回到最深处的房间,我们轮流去之下,探索海底隧道。 这是史蒂芬的第一次的潜水经验,他的表现非常出色。 水流稳定增加和隧道夹持到一个较小的和更小的管。 它得到了相当困难的逆水而战。 我发现了一个小(一英寸)棕色的鱼在这条隧道,并希望能找到所在的路径开辟成空气的洞穴又一个地方,但洞中有太瘦继续。

在此之后,我们前往了进山营地,我们熟汉堡包和我们的天文激光笔下一个壮观的天空打出了一夜。

第二天早上,我们拔营出发去使用30英尺草甸温泉〜95°F)的主池的表面下我们的空气的其余部分。 一旦出现,我们探讨了架子,然后离开了潜水装备大约12英尺深的地方,他们不能从上面所看到的。 后来一个孩子走丢的弹簧由他本人和我们有他亲眼目睹,我就到了底部,“举办的”我的呼吸,企图打破了世界纪录。 我们惊奇地发现不为所动,当我4分钟后想出了他。 他更关心的是是否我曾见过他的摇滚出现了下滑 - 今天的孩子......不尊重。

评论(3)

引用网址 | 评论RSS饲料

  1. 约翰·格里格斯 说:

    哦,这听起来真棒。 不起眼的海底温泉洞穴。 一些在许多赞赏犹他州的奇迹。 但是,什么是跛脚的孩子。 他毁了一个完美的恶作剧。 当我第一次读它,我没有赶上到shnanigan,而是认为,“去一个世界纪录,这听起来像萨德”......然后我重新阅读并意识到这是一个阴谋采取天真的优势想象一个年轻的人。 转念一想,“现在听起来像萨德” :)

发表评论




如果你想要的图片与您的评论显示,去获得的gravatar。

3

Diving Desert Grottos

For this trip Matt, Steven, Chris and I set out to investigate rumors of a hot spring/cave in Gandy, Utah. There wasn’t much posted online about Gandy Warm Springs. The directions to the springs were especially vague — “turn on a dirt road about a mile before Gandy.” We started by taking the scenic route toward Delta. After reaching Delta we decided to take the dirt roads through a canyon neither of us had ever seen before — because Merit Badge (my Kia) has a thing for dirt roads. The views were spectacular! We stopped a few times in the canyon to explore steep cliffs and to scout out possible camping sites, then we got back on route towards Gandy. Just before we reached Gandy we ran into a dirt road junction with a small gathering of houses that had a trailer-park feel about it. There was no sign designating it as an official town. Gandy, on the other hand, had an official sign even though only one house is associated with that sign.

We backtracked a mile and found a dirt road that fit the vague description we had. The road quickly turned into a two track path with a high weed center and more and more snow the further we went. We tried several of the branched routes on this road to no avail. Then we consulted the pictures we had stored on the iPhone. Looking around we found the places that appeared to match the few pictures we had best and set out to find a road that would take us there. After slipping a significant way down a muddy hill and figuring a way to get the car back up the hill, we found the springs.

This spot turned out to be much more than we expected. The water temperature was close to 80 degrees and a cave with an ominous opening took us deep underground. With headlamps and one pair of goggles between us we swam underneath beautiful stalactites and past a little gurgling waterfall. Near what appeared to be the end the path twisted around on itself and a little window opened up a space between the rooms. The cave kept going but it went underwater. We decided that there was more that needed to be explored. So we went back out, hiked back to the top of the hill to our vehicle, and packed the SCUBA gear to the springs. Once we got back to the deepest room we took turns going beneath and exploring the tunnel underwater. This was Steven’s first SCUBA diving experience and he did a great job. The water flow steadily increased and the tunnel pinched into a smaller and smaller tube. It got quite difficult to fight against the current. I spotted a small (one inch) brown fish in this tunnel and was hoping to find a place where the path opened up into a cavern of air again, but the cave got too skinny to continue.

After this, we headed out into the mountains to camp for the night where we cooked hamburgers and played with our astronomy laser pointers under a spectacular sky.

The next morning we broke camp and set out to use the rest of our air 30 feet below the surface of main pool of Meadow Hot Springs ~95° F). Once there, we explored the shelf and then left the SCUBA gear about 12 feet down where they couldn’t be seen from above. Afterwards a kid wandered to the springs by himself and we had him witness as I went to the bottom and “held” my breath in an attempt to break the world record. We were amazed at how unimpressed he was when I came up after 4 minutes. He was more concerned with whether or not I had seen his rock down there — kids today… no respect.

Comments (3)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. John Griggs says:

    Oh man, that sounds awesome. Inconspicuous underwater hotspring caves. Some of the many under appreciated wonders of Utah. But what a lame kid. He ruined a perfectly good prank. When I first read it, I didn’t catch on to the shnanigan but rather thought, “going for a world record, that sounds like Thad”… then I re-read it and realized it was a ploy to take advantage of the naive imagination of a young person. I then thought, “now THAT sounds like Thad” :)

  2. troseph says:

    I want to go to there.